Plantain and Bacon Soup

This week my youngest daughter Dani had all four wisdom teeth removed. Not a pleasant experience if you’ve ever had the procedure. So in an effort to get the girl to eat something -anything- I offered her whatever she’d like. That thing turned out to be potato soup.

I was instantly jealous. My fondness for potatoes has not diminished though my body rebels for weeks should I eat any. So while making her a pot of soup I was recreating it in my head with plantains. My go to substitute for potatoes.

As soon as Dani’s soup was done I started one for me. It turned out very well except for  a texture issue that I think can be easily remedied by adding the plantain near the end instead of blending with the rest of the ingredients. So in the recipe here I’m suggesting that.

I hope this satisfies your longing for a hearty bowl of potato and bacon soup!


Plantain and Bacon soup

Ingredients:

  •  2 cups liquid (I used broth and coconut milk in equal parts)
  • 2 green plantains cut in 1 inch pieces (2.5 cm) and boiled until fork tender
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 tsp rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp dill
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 small onion sautéed
  • 3 slices of bacon fried to slightly crispy

Procedure for high speed blender:

  • Boil the plantain and drain off liquid, sauté the onion, and fry the bacon.
  • Heat the liquid (broth and coconut milk) until steaming.
  • Add all ingredients except plantain and bacon and run the blender on high for about 3 minutes until very hot.
  • Add hot plantain and bacon and run just 5-10 seconds until chopped and incorporated into the mixture.

***Don’t over blend or the texture becomes gooey.

Procedure for stovetop:

  • Boil the plantain and drain off liquid, sauté the onion, and fry the bacon.
  • Add all ingredients except plantain and bacon to a soup pot.
  • Heat until boiling then reduce the heat.
  • Chop the bacon as fine as you like.
  • Mash the plantain to your desired texture.
  • Add bacon and plantain and just heat through.

Note: If you have an immersion blender you can roughly chop the plantain and bacon then blend briefly in the pot.

***Don’t over blend or the texture becomes gooey.

 

Leave a Reply

