Deep fry batter

I threw this together and in a small miracle kind of way it worked….really well in fact.

As a disclaimer, I never measure anything, so what I usually have to do is go back and guess later. I can do this because I know the consistency it should be, but I would suggest trying a test run. My first go at this the batter pretty much fell off, so I added a bit more tapioca starch and all was well.

  • 1 slightly yellow plantain
  • 1/4 to 1/2 coconut milk (add more as needed)
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup kombucha
  • 1 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder

In a food processor or blender, mix all ingredients until a fairly thick batter is formed.

I used this on onion rings, chicken, and fish. It made a batter similar to English style fish or Chinese chicken ball coating.  For the fish I needed to dredge each piece in tapioca starch to get the batter to stick. It seemed fine on its own for the other things I tried it with.

Leave a Reply

