Kale and meatball soup

img_0040

Eating my greens is not something I’m good at. So in order to get them into me soup is my answer. I will pretty much eat anything in soup form.

On a day I had some kale quickly going limp in the fridge, I decided soup was its best destination. This soup came together quickly and was just what the body needed. Hope you like it.

  • 1 bunch of kale chopped
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 carrot diced
  • 1 celery stalk diced
  • premade meatballs raw or cooked
  • 4 cups chicken broth
  • 2-4 cups water or more broth
  • salt to taste

Sauté the vegetables except the kale for 5-10 minutes until onions are translucent. Add the kale, the broth, and meatballs. Add more water or broth until the soup is as thin as you like. Simmer 15-20 minutes until all the vegetables are soft and the meatballs are cooked.

You may want to add other seasonings but I didn’t because I found the flavour (especially garlic) transferred from the meatballs to the broth.

Leave a Reply

